I’m listening.

Dear Daughter,

What’s on your mind? I’m listening.

Love, Dad

After the loss of my momma, my mind was almost simultaneously flooded with all kinds of thoughts. Some thoughts were helpful, like thoughts of scripture that would give me hope, and sweet memories of my mom and I spending time together-getting our nails done. However, there were countless times where unhelpful thoughts would creep in, thoughts that sounded like ‘If only I had done (such and such) than she would still be here’. Day after day, moment after moment, I had to arrest the thoughts that were lies and start to talk to God about what I was thinking about.  I had to be ready to measure up my thoughts with the Word of God and see if what I was thinking was really true, in order to ensure that I kept a healthy mindset amongst a very difficult season.

We all grow up with a worldview and belief system that inadvertently shapes our mindsets and lenses in which we view life through. However, these mindsets can be limiting and unhelpful if they do not measure up with the Word and nature of God. I found this to be true when I entered into my first year of Bible College as I began to test things that I grew up with against the Word of God. I quickly realized I had adopted views and mindsets that needed to be re-formed in order that I may be transformed. Once I started on this journey I found freedom and fluidity in my thought-life and public life. Ladies, I would challenge you to start thinking about what you are thinking about. Is your thought-life allowing you to flourish? Is it full of what God says about you? Or are there mindsets that may need to be renewed, in order that you can be transformed? Philippians 4:18 tells us to meditate on things that are true, so lets begin to hold captive what is not and give life to thoughts that are. The beautiful thing is He wants to partner with you in this process and instill in you a heavenly way of thinking.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

Romans 12:2

pic via @tomcatcolee

Comments are closed.